Telford area

13th-14th March 2024

This crackin Mediterranean Gull was hanging out with some 3-400 Black-headed Gull at Horton Wood

The only species of note 14th, was a Yellow-legged Gull in a flooded field at Sutton Maddock with Herring and Lesser-black backed Gulls and at Preston, there were up to 5 Little Egret. However, yesterday was pretty productive and it started off with another gull. I came across some 300-400 Black-headed Gull feeding in a sheep field at Hortonwood, A quick scan from the car and as well as 2 Common Gull there was a summer adult Mediterranean Gull. While taking pics of the Med, 2 Red Kite also flew overhead.

On the rabbit run, just off the Sutton Maddock round about, there was this Yellow-legged Gull in a flooded field.

There were up to 5 Little Egret at Preston

Highlight of the 13th was this Mediterranean Gull at Hortonwood

2 Common Gull were also in the same field as the Mediterranean Gull

A short drive to Crudgington flood from Hortonwood produced the Great White Egret, 3 Green Sandpiper, 4 Pintail, 11 Gadwall, 6 Shelduck and a single Oystercatcher and Egyptian Goose. In the corn fields nearby there was a mixed finch flock including 60 Chaffinch, 25 Greenfinch, 15 Goldfinch, 4 Brambling and also 10 Yellowhammer and 20 Reed Bunting. Just up road, I came across another large corn field and there were also another 50 Chaffinch and a high number of over 70 Stock Dove feeding.

Over 35 year ago, Hortonwood and Kynnersley were my local patches in my teens and most of the the species that I’ve observed today, I never thought I would see in this area. However, back then, Redshank and good numbers of Lapwing breed. I remember finding up to five nests of Lapwing at Hortonwood in a few hours, including two young in the Mediterranean Gull field. Barn, Little and Tawny Owl were so easy to see and seen almost daily and Turtle Doves were heard purring.

One if the 4 Brambling

Egyptian Goose

Record shot of the Great White Egret on the far side

50 0f the 70 Stock Dove

Meadow Pipit

Stonechat

A few days ago, after a pair of Peregrine flew straight through, this Red Kite was a first over the garden

Lowkey EXPOSES The Dark History Behind Israel’s Murder of Rachel Corrie

Rachel Corrie was an inspiration for me in making my first visit to Palestine in 2016 so I could discover for myself what was really goin on out there. In the three times that I’ve been to Palestine, I was shot at, beaten up by the Israeli Occupation Force and observed a child get shot and then the grandfather who went to rescue the child, also get shot by an Israeli sniper. Unfortunately, Rachel was killed by an Israeli bulldozer running her over as she tried to stop a Palestinian home from being demolished. I saw many Palestinian homes get demolished and it’s been goin on for decades and you still think that the war all started on Oct 7th???

Double Down News 489K subscribers

Share51,723 views 15 Mar 2024 Let me tell you a story… Join the Future of Journalism ►   / doubledownnews   Support DDN ► https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr…

Author: Kris Webb 10

I love to throw sticks at trees! I also can’t get enough of music! I also blog about my observations on Scilly and wherever I go around the world and what’s sometimes on my mind. I’ve visited over 30 countries and some more times than once. I’ve worked and volunteered in Nepal, USA, Peru, Gambia, Costa Rica, 3x Australia, and refugee camps in Palestine The profile image is one I took while in Palestine of a brave Israeli holding high the Palestinian flag in front of the Israeli Offensive Forces during protests in Belin

One thought on “Telford area”

Leave a comment

Aspie Nomad

Define yourself. Defy your limits.

SCILLYSPIDER 2

Go to www.scillyspider.blogspot.com for archives from the 2010-19

Discover WordPress

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

The Atavist Magazine

Go to www.scillyspider.blogspot.com for archives from the 2010-19

Longreads

Longreads : The best longform stories on the web

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started