Intersting Kestrel at Pelistry

28th May 2023

On the 23rd May, at dusk, I observed this possible male Lesser Kestrel for 10 seconds, east over Pelistry Farm to never be seen again. This was all I got on it and some believe that it also looks very good for LK. Unfortunately, it’s one that’s gotten away.

Yesterday, 5 Red Kite flew over the garden but it was early evening on St Martins that I had the best views of Red Kite so far since they arrived last week. This morning on the latter island, up at the Daymark before the crowds arrived from St Mary’s only to get a single Whinchat and Wheatear, 3 Swift and 8 Silver Y Moth. On the way up there were 12 Dunlin off Higher Town Beach with a single Spotted Flycatcher nearby. Late afternoon, back home on St Mary’s, I had my second Rook for the garden. No doubt one of the 2 Rook I came across two days ago at Helvier with 30 Crows. Also on the same day at Porth Hellick, there were my first Whinchat and Hobby of the year and the Buzzard finally showed well.

Yesterday early evening on St Martins, this Red Kite was keeping tabs on me as it passed overhead at Higher Town.

Wheatear at the Daymark

While taking a pic of this Rat at Higher Town Beach, another ran over my two feet!!!

Very unusual for this time of year wee 2 Rook at Helvier hanging out with 30 Crows, 27th

My first Whinchat of the year was at Porth Hellick

Where I had this Hobby also taking on the roosting 80 House Martin and 20 Swallow

One of the Swallows was on the same wire as the Hobby

With some 80 House Martin in the area as well

Also had the Buzzard at Porth Hellick

Sunset yesterday looking east from the Daymark towards Round Island light house

Author: Kris Webb 10

I love to throw sticks at trees! I also can’t get enough of music! I also blog about my observations on Scilly and wherever I go around the world and what’s sometimes on my mind. I’ve visited over 30 countries and some more times than once. I’ve worked and volunteered in Nepal, USA, Peru, Gambia, Costa Rica, 3x Australia, and refugee camps in Palestine The profile image is one I took while in Palestine of a brave Israeli holding high the Palestinian flag in front of the Israeli Offensive Forces during protests in Belin

Leave a comment

Aspie Nomad

Define yourself. Defy your limits.

SCILLYSPIDER 2

Go to www.scillyspider.blogspot.com for archives from the 2010-19

Discover WordPress

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

The Atavist Magazine

Go to www.scillyspider.blogspot.com for archives from the 2010-19

Longreads

Longreads : The best longform stories on the web

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started