Oman Day 10 Al Mughsayl

5th Feburary 2023

At last I’ve caught up with Spotted Thicknee after spotting 2 birds while driving near to Khawi East

Easy day that turned out to be a good one. Later than usual on the road. A 30 minute drive east from Salalah to my third visit to Al Mughsayl. I’ve never seen one before but there is a Lesser White-fronted Goose there. I’m not into geese as most of the rare ones that turn up in the UK, you can’t say if they’ve jumped a fence or they’re wild. However, I found this one very flighty and couldn’t get near it. Who knows? Other wildfowl included, 4 Teal, 26 Garganey, 16 Pintail, 4 Shoveler, 3 Tufted Duck and a single Pochard. Terns or waders were a bit thin on the ground but in the nearby area of note were 5 Tawny Pipit and single Bonelli’s Eagle and Blue Rock Thrush.

Lesser White-fronted Goose Fence jumper or wild bird?

5 of the 26 Garganey

There were up to 5 Tawny Pipit in the nearby area

Al Mughsayl looking from the west

Returning back to Salalah for somethin to bite before making a very short drive to Khawi West where I got the long staying very rare 2 Long-tailed Cormorant. Pretty easy to spot being smaller than Cormorant but getting a pic was another thing. I thought I would end the day at Khawi East. On my ways there, I couldn’t believe my luck, when on the corner of junction, shading under a small tree, was the unmistakable shape of a Spotted Thicknee. It’s when I had a closer look, there were two! Ideal! Snapped off some shots and then left them alone to watch the traffic pass by only meters away from them both. At the latter sight, not as busy as usual with folks or birds. However, the highlight was a single Pin-tailed Snipe that flew off with other snipe.

Spotted Thicknee shelting from the next to a not so busy road.

Only a handful of Little Stint at Khawi East

Caspian Tern

My first Great White Egret of the trip

Heavily cropped pic of a Pin-tailed Snipe flying away

Author: Kris Webb 10

I love to throw sticks at trees! I also can’t get enough of music! I also blog about my observations on Scilly and wherever I go around the world and what’s sometimes on my mind. I’ve visited over 30 countries and some more times than once. I’ve worked and volunteered in Nepal, USA, Peru, Gambia, Costa Rica, 3x Australia, and refugee camps in Palestine The profile image is one I took while in Palestine of a brave Israeli holding high the Palestinian flag in front of the Israeli Offensive Forces during protests in Belin

Leave a comment

Aspie Nomad

Define yourself. Defy your limits.

SCILLYSPIDER 2

Go to www.scillyspider.blogspot.com for archives from the 2010-19

Discover WordPress

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

The Atavist Magazine

Go to www.scillyspider.blogspot.com for archives from the 2010-19

Longreads

Longreads : The best longform stories on the web

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started