9th Paddyfield Warbler for Scilly

28th October 2023

One species of Asian warbler that I’ve always wanted to find was Paddyfield Warbler and although very brief, I came across this individual at Porth Hellick this afternoon. It was glimpsed again later on by a small crowd of birders before disappearing deeper into the reed bed.

It was a day of trying to get time off work, on and off throughout and on my mind was a Yank warbler out there to be unearthed. However, it turned out to be a 7th for Scilly from Asia. First time to get away, was half an hour from 09.45 where I found myself at Porth Hellick. Chiffchaff were in good numbers and in with them were 2 Yellow-browed Warbler, 3 Siberian Chiffchaff, single Lesser Whitethroat (probably Siberian) and I turned up a Red-breasted Flycatcher. Ideal! In front of the Sussex hide was the Spoonbill with a male Merlin, House Martin and 8 Swallow overhead.

Always good to come across of a Red-breasted Flycatcher but this was all I got on it as I had to return to work.

This Spoonbill has been hanging out at Porth Hellick for the last week

Siberian Chiffchaff

Early afternoon, I dropped of guests and Graham Gordon and Lee Armley at the airport. I had an hour to kill and told Graham, that Porth Hellick was buzzing earlier on, I’ve got a feeling there might be a chance of somethin better than a RBFly popping up instead’. There was a sunny spell before the next downpour arrived and I thought I would start at the beach end of Porth Hellick and make my ways north, back towards the road. Therefore, when the rain arrives, I can shelter in the hides or if I get a call from work, I’m closer to my wagon to rus off if needs be. I stood still on the path and waited for movement in the first Sallows you hit as you come through the gate with the sea behind me to the south. More Chiffchaff moving through and a few minutes later, I got the briefest of a glimpse of what I thought was a warbler moving through the base of the reeds some 7-8 meters away in front of me. The wind was blowing the vegetation all over the shop making it so difficult to get anythin on it. I thought I had lost it as there was no movement for a few minutes. Then the reed stems started to twitch again in the same area where I last saw what ever it was. Then it popped it’s head out into the open. That was enough for me to identify it as a Paddyfield Warbler!!! Get in there! Now, all I needed was a shot of it and sure enough, very briefly, it emerged from cover where it was still mostly obscured by vegetation but I managed to fire off four record shots before it made a short flight into the ferns where it simply vanished after trying to relocate it. I put the news out and it wasn’t long before the first birders turned up. I left them on site as I had to return to work.

Two of the four record shots that I could manage of the Paddyfield Warbler as it was mostly hidden behind vegetation. This is only the third individual I ever seen and all on Scilly!

Stonechat

Another half an hour off and I was still searching for that elusive yank and as there had been no sign of the Paddyfield Warbler, I tried out Higher Moors. After coming across 2 Yellow-browed Warbler, 2 Siberian Chiffchaff and a single Sparrowhawk and Woodcock, I returned to me wagon where Mark Halliday told me that him and others had seen the Paddyfield Warbler but very briefly. The Red-breasted Flycatcher was also sen throughout the day.

From Higher Moors to Porth Hellick loop trail, there were up to 4 Yellow-browed Warbler

Also 4 Siberian Chiffchaff

Two nights ago, Elliot Mudd sent me some real bad record shots of a cartharus thrush on the main path at the Rose Hill end of Lower Moors. From what I could make out, I told him that it was maybe a Grey-cheeked Thrush but it was better to put the news out on the group as a cartharus sp? Yesterday morning, the Grey-cheeked Thrush was relocated just around the corner favouring a field on the Rocky Hill/Rose Hill junction. Fortunately, it was still showing when I got there mid-afternoon where I got a few distant record shots. Today, the thrush had been showing very well on and off and just after 16.00, I arrived on site to see that Andrew Jordon was pointing his camera at the yank. I joined him and we both got superb views at close range as it fed in the field, favouring the remains of a small bomb fire. I returned shortly after to find that there were an increase of birders and the thrush was still showing off to finish off a crippling day of finds and I did get to see a yank after all thanks to the mega find by Elliot Mudd!

This distant record shot was all I got on the Grey-cheeked Thrush yesterday

Grey-cheeked Thrush at Rocky Hills. With less than 30 Scilly records, this was only my 6th with the last individual, that Andy Holden and I relocated on Little Porth after Graham Gordon and Lawrence Pitcher had it first on St Agnes. From images, it was identified as the same thrush by feather detail.

This probable Siberian Lesser Whitethroat has been spending the last two days in the garden adding yet another species to the list. Took this pic on the roof

Pied Wagtail

A few days ago there were up to 2 Wheatear, single Whinchat and including this individual, 12 Black Redstart at Porthloo

Forgot to add these 2 Richards’s Pipit from over a week ago on the airfield

Meadow Pipit in the garden

Still the odd Clouded Yellow on the wing

The Palestinian Horror Story The Media Hides From You

Over 7000 Palestinians have been massacred by the Israeli apartheid far right fascist terrorists state in less than three weeks!!! Supported by the UK and US government! 70% murdered are women and children. And like before, over decades, still the Western mainstream media make out that Israel are the victims. You only have to look on the front pages of the propaganda, The Times, Telegraph, Mail, Express and the rest of the papers that you are stupid enough to read and believe in their lies.

37,508 views 26 Oct 2023″I just want to wake up from this nightmare” Follow Yara Edi’s work on Instagram @edi_yara ►   / eid_yara   Join the Future of Journalism ►   / doubledownnews   Support DDN ► https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr…

Author: Kris Webb 10

I love to throw sticks at trees! I also can’t get enough of music! I also blog about my observations on Scilly and wherever I go around the world and what’s sometimes on my mind. I’ve visited over 30 countries and some more times than once. I’ve worked and volunteered in Nepal, USA, Peru, Gambia, Costa Rica, 3x Australia, and refugee camps in Palestine The profile image is one I took while in Palestine of a brave Israeli holding high the Palestinian flag in front of the Israeli Offensive Forces during protests in Belin

One thought on “9th Paddyfield Warbler for Scilly”

Leave a comment

Aspie Nomad

Define yourself. Defy your limits.

SCILLYSPIDER 2

Go to www.scillyspider.blogspot.com for archives from the 2010-19

Discover WordPress

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

The Atavist Magazine

Go to www.scillyspider.blogspot.com for archives from the 2010-19

Longreads

Longreads : The best longform stories on the web

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started